Sign in to follow this  
frogfish

made my peace with the M9 / 35 Summilux - in Bali

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi dear fellow photographers

The M9. I had my reservations, I had my problems. I asked, and complained about it in this forum and got some good advice. But I was not really convinced.

The 35 Summilux FLE. Again disappointments, was nearly about to sell it. Thought about to separate from Leica totally.

There where moments of frustration but also moments of joy.

I am a professionell wedding photographer and shoot mainly in unposed journalistic style. Yeah, easy answer, the M9 is for you you might say. I thought so, too. But parallax, fast moving situations with open aperture and low light shooting were the issues that made my problems.

In the end I found peace - in Bali.

No, I am not Julia Roberts but still, I found my peace with my M9 and Summilux combo. I actually love it.

The colors, the out of focus rendering, the handling. It was just pure fun to use it. And I am happy with the results. The M9 will get a lot of work next season...

If you like, see some pictures from my journey to Bali (the M9/35 was accompanied with the D700 and a 85/1.4)

a professional shooting:

Schmidt Wedding Photography

a little private notebook of my time in Bali:

Schmidt Wedding Photography

So, now probably is the time to try the 75 Summicron/Summilux, and the journey will start again...

heiko schmidt

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I will let the op opine on new m but I think his results suggest the lust to upgrade is lust not love or need To me this further proof to put the time into the photographer not the gear