Just bought M8.2 with Coffe Stain on LCD

Pablo LeicaM8

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone, I just bought a used ebay M8.2 and it has the coffe stain LCD issue in the center of the screen as explained in the forum (more visible when on a pale wall etc). Rest is working very well and of course pictures are not affected.

I am new to Leica and I need advice. Would you keep the Camera with that defect and with no warranty? .. and no service for those LCDs....

The price was for 2400€ ($3100) the camera and a 50mm Summicron type 4 from 1981 + charger, 2 batteries & usb cable.

Do you think it is still a good deal with the LCD issue? I love the camera...so I need advice to make a reasonable decission!

I have 6 days to return it... so any advice will help!

Thank you

Edited by Pablo LeicaM8
  • Like 1

Welcome to the Forum.

For a good working M8 it is a very good deal. The previous owner sold it because of this problem

and unless you want to upgrade the thing via Customer Service - for a fee of course -

return it as fast as possible.

Perhaps you could keep the lens and get a partial refund.

Best

GEORG

• Like 1

First thank you for answering,

do you think the lcd may go worse?, I mean it is not really annoying.

The camera is a M8.2, so there is no upgrade since it has already the sapphire protection, as far as I know the upgrade changes the cover, not he lcd.

Thank you for the feedback

Edited by Pablo LeicaM8

First thank you for answering,

do you think the lcd may go worse?, ...

Pablo, welcome to the forum.