Help me decide my first M setup!

Owem

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello, I'm a teenager photographer who would like to by a M system on a budget. Possibly below ~850$.

Thing's I'd like.

-The body must be compatible with the Voigtlander 15mm Screwmount with an adapter.

-A meter would be ideal, but not absolutely necessary.

-Good viewfinder

-At least somewhat stable

I don't reall have any specification on lenses, other than I already know I'd get a 15mm 4.5 screwmount. If you have any other opinion such as getting a R setup, please tell me!

Welcome to the LEICA-Forum..

For a sensible start you could try a LEICA M2. But in case you funds allow

an M6, go for this newer model. It has the lightmeter incorporated, VERY useful.

If you want to go automatic, have a look at the M7, VERY much recommended.

Buying secondhand I would strongly recommend to buy from a reputable dealer

and arrange for a warranty. Buying from eBay might lead to the fact, that the seller

refuses to take the item back in case of a qualityproblem. Older mechanical

cameras do show these from time to time.

Don´t hesitate to go beyong your financial limit. It´s always worth with a LEICA ...

Best

GEORG

Edited by k_g_wolf
  • Like 1

Check that you can use a 15mm on the CL, it may foul the meter.

What about a screw mount Leica such as a lllc? Or yes there are the Voigtlanders. The M2 is one of the least expensive Leica M bodies, don't worry too much about cosmetics as long as the rangefinder/viewfinder and mechanics are good.

• Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Check that you can use a 15mm on the CL, it may foul the meter.

What about a screw mount Leica such as a lllc? Or yes there are the Voigtlanders. The M2 is one of the least expensive Leica M bodies, don't worry too much about cosmetics as long as the rangefinder/viewfinder and mechanics are good.