M9 Banding and noise issues are gone!

Paul J

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've posted this in the cards section too but thought it might go overlooked and that someone might benefit from the findings. I know others have reported the issue too so I hope this will help you also.

Some of you may remember I had ongoing issues with heavy banding in shadows even at ISO 160 on my M9. I was about to send the camera back to Solms when I read, somewhere on this forum, that a Transcend 32GB Class 10 card solved someones issues.

I have been using the card for a couple months now and am really happy to report that all of my banding and noise issues have evaporated. If you are having problems I really suggest you try the card, or try swapping other cards until you find something that gives you clean results. I tried the Gold Panasonics at great expense and still my problems persisted, I was so close to sending the camera in as I thought it was defective. I also worried the camera design was floored with lack of shielding or something similar but alas it was as simple as changing cards.

My files are now super clean. I have much less noise, nearly none at ISO 160 now and absolutely no banding at all. I am over the moon to find this has resolved my issue which was a little scary to think was going to hang around! Also a bonus that these particular cards are reasonably priced too.

Anyway, I hope this may help some others too.

• Like 11

How would this make sense?

Sometime when you have a few minutes tether your camera to the computer and capture a shot in broad daylight then capture the same shot un-tethered to the sd card and load the picture.

Ye shall understand more about the "weakest link" in the chain.

• Like 2

What firmware version are you using in the M9 and how many copies of these cards have you tried/used in your M9?