Summicron 40mm f2 vs Voigtlander Nokton 40mm f1,4

Giacomo.B

Difficult to be sure due to sample variation at CV but the 40/1.4 is said to be very soft at f/1.4 and to suffer from focus shift at f/2.8 and on. I have no experience with it though. If you read French, see Jean-Marie Sepulchre, page 177. Some good photogs are happy with the 40/1.4 though.

Otherwise i own both M-Rokkor (for Minolta CLE) and Summicron-C. The Rokkor has less flare due to multicoating, as opposed to the Summicron-C which flares more or less like the Summicron-M 35 from the same period (v4). Otherwise they are very close. The Rokkor has a bit yellowish tint natively but it is difficult to notice and it disappears easily in PP. The Summicron-C is supposed to have focus problems with M bodies due to its sloping focus cam but i don't buy into this story personally as i've got three samples of it and none had the least issue with either my film Ms or R-D1 & M8.2. On the contrary, my Rokkor back focuses a lot unfortunately. Must come from my sample i guess as it is not a reported problem with this lens AFAIK.

My CV 35/1.4 "SC" has a lot of focus shift at f/2.8 and on as well. I use it only at f/1.4 and f/2 where it is slightly sharper than the Summilux 35/1.4 pre-asph (last version). The CV "SC" flares a lot though, even more than the late Summilux pre-asph.

I would not buy a Voigtlander lens without testing it first. If the lens suffers from focus shift it is unfortunately useless. My M-Rokkor 40/2 is spot on my M8, haven't heard about anyone with focus shift problems (in contrast with Voigtlander lenses). However, I've had some very good experience with Voigtlander lenses as well, so when they work they're usually great!