Sign in to follow this  
Giacomo.B

Summicron 40mm f2 vs Voigtlander Nokton 40mm f1,4

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello i would like an inexpensive 40mm for my M8, which of these two, Summicron/Rokkor 40mm f2 or Voigtlander Nokton 40mm f1,4, do you think the best?

Giacomo

Difficult to be sure due to sample variation at CV but the 40/1.4 is said to be very soft at f/1.4 and to suffer from focus shift at f/2.8 and on. I have no experience with it though. If you read French, see Jean-Marie Sepulchre, page 177. Some good photogs are happy with the 40/1.4 though.

Otherwise i own both M-Rokkor (for Minolta CLE) and Summicron-C. The Rokkor has less flare due to multicoating, as opposed to the Summicron-C which flares more or less like the Summicron-M 35 from the same period (v4). Otherwise they are very close. The Rokkor has a bit yellowish tint natively but it is difficult to notice and it disappears easily in PP. The Summicron-C is supposed to have focus problems with M bodies due to its sloping focus cam but i don't buy into this story personally as i've got three samples of it and none had the least issue with either my film Ms or R-D1 & M8.2. On the contrary, my Rokkor back focuses a lot unfortunately. Must come from my sample i guess as it is not a reported problem with this lens AFAIK.

My Summicron 40C focuses fine on my M9. I don't have the 40 Nokton, but do have the 35 Nokton 1.4, and my sample is very good. At f2 I like it better than my Summicron 35 (v3) at f2.0 - sharper and less vignetting. Indeed, there may be sample variation, but at the cost of the Nokton it isn't much risk.

My CV 35/1.4 "SC" has a lot of focus shift at f/2.8 and on as well. I use it only at f/1.4 and f/2 where it is slightly sharper than the Summilux 35/1.4 pre-asph (last version). The CV "SC" flares a lot though, even more than the late Summilux pre-asph.