Did Ken Rockwell a M8 hater?

ivanlow

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I usually find a harsh words from Ken Rockwell at M8 camera.

If u read up his review on every lens sure find "failed M8" "u M8 people" phase and so on!

Can't really stand his discrimination on M8 as I'm a happy user of M8.

I love M8 so please stop calling M8 a failed camera!

• Like 1

From his own site... "...I have the energy and sense of humor of a three-year old, so remember, this is a personal website, and never presented as fact. I enjoy making things up for fun, as does The Onion, and I publish them here..."

Stop reading and keep shooting.

Jeff

As a writer, I think Ken tends to say the outrageous just to get traffic on his blog. He does trash the Leica persona pretty badly on "each-review" basis.

But if you read into it (and this may be difficult if English is not your primary language) aside from his kind of snobbish/almost ridiculous tone, he makes some pretty valid points.

I actually really enjoy reading his articles because he's not IN LOVE with his Leica, but instead his interest seems to lie in making good images.

If you read enough of his articles you realize that a) he does not deny the fact that Leica glass is optically superior in most cases B) some Zeiss lenses do out perform their Leica counter-parts in certain aspects and c) he values the practically of photography as a hobby - aka bang for buck.

I actually love his analogy of the "Leica Man", who is so rich money is not a concern and he just wants the best of the best of the best.

• Like 3

People take him too serious... and admittedly there are many subjective statements. On DPReview whenever his name was mentioned, it was usually followed by a whole array of denigrating comments and complaints.