Focusing error of Summicron 75mm on Leica M9??

knopfler1976

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Dear all,

I've been using a 2nd-hand M9 for about 3 months now with Summicron 35mm, also brand new when purchased. I didn't find much problem in focusing with my Cron-35mm wide-open, regardless of the focusing distance. (Though I have to say focusing at far objects generally gives soft results even when stopped down. Is this the nature of the lens?)

I recently got a brand new Summicron 75mm from BHPhoto (with some luck) and have been playing with it for 2 days. Before I started decribing my issue with it, let me say I'm not the kind of focus-freak, i.e. people who wants the focus to be extremely accurate. I understand the nature of rangefinder and for street shooting I mostly use zone focus or pre-focus. I could live with inaccurate focusing as long as the composition is good for me.

But with 75mm wide-open (and its shallow DoF), I'm really noticing the error. In mid-range focusing distance (1.2m~3m) the focusing seems to be pretty accurate. But at very short distances (0.7m~1m) and anything beyond 5m, it seems to be off most of the time.

I didn't do rigorous test using proper objects (like rulers or something). I just took a lot of shots with real-life subjects. Roughly speaking, when focusing close, say 0.7m, the error seems to be about 1~2cm. When focusing long, say 10m, it's much worse. I could really tell that the focus is not right.

Given that rangefinder depends on users' bare eyes, I guess my eyesight has to be factored in. I wear glasses to correct my eyesights (about 600 degrees left and 450 right).

I'm intersted in the experience of the other owners of Cron-75mm. Is this generally the case with this lens, that focusing at short distances and long distances tends to be off? Or is it neccessary that I send the camera and the lens to Leica for calibration?