Swanny Swanny

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all,

I'm new to all this so please be gentle ...I've just purchased a less than 1year old (leica dealer refurb so promised mint!) M9 ..... and while i await delivery

i'd be pleased to hear your thoughts on getting perhaps the Zagg M8 screen protector as i understand the M9 has the same 'plastic' screen as the M8 (from Ken Rockwell's review site) and so could do with some protection ( i have in mind the Zagg as i have an IPAD screen cover from them that is great)

Additionally if you know of any better? / other review sites I'd be grateful too as now I'm looking for some lenses to go with it

Once again all and any thoughts / comments appreciated

Swanny Swanny

There are quite a few opinons on this one - welcome btw :) and congratulations on your new camera- The most luxury one is a glass one by Giotto, I prefer usung the AcMaxx one and replacing it evry half year, others like to use Zagg or other foil type protectors. So whatever catches your fancy. And - don't attempt to keep the camera mint. Use it!! ;)

Sir,

For a screen protector, I would hands - down recommend the Giotto. It fits perfectly to your screen. It is perfectly clear and does serve to protect your M9 screen.

And, after a period of time you won't even know it is there.

Yes, it can break. Mine broke on the last day of Photokina last year. I was taking the train to Paris from Cologne. And, discovered when opening my camera bag that the protector had been cracked.

I know that had I not had the Giotto protector protecting my screen, unquestionably my screen would have been damaged.

Possibly cracked or broken.

The Giotto took the hit instead. Which is exactly why it was purchased.

Thus, the Giotto is a small price to pay for that superior level of insurance. And, whilst I have friends whose Giotto's protect their M9 screens...they've not had a break, nor a scratch or any damage whatsoever done to their screens or their Giotto protector.