Is noctilux f0.95 worth the jump?

andrekeli

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all,

I am facing a sort of "dilemma" here... I am looking into the noctilux F0.95. However, given its high price, I have several nagging questions over my head before I make the decision next week (when the lens arrives). I am a newbie in Leica-land and I am loving every minute of it. My current system includes M9 and 50 lux asph as my main lens. In addition I also have the 35 summarit and 90 elmarit.

My questions are:

1. Is the 0.95 aperture really that much different from F1.4? Is it worth the jump? I notice that F0.95 pics at times may take the subject "out of context" with a high object-background separation.

2. I heard from a reliable source that it's better to wait for a new version of the noct as Leica is redesigning the lens to tackle some of its problems (e.g. excessive CA at wide open). Leica says to buy the version from July onwards.

3. Is it better to get the nocti F1 instead? If yes, which version should I get?

4. Should I get the 21lux asph or the 35luxII, instead, to add another focal length? I already have the 90 elmarit for my tele. A wide angle complete my set. I figured 35lux is a bit too close to 50lux... am i right in thinking this way?

Any opinions and comments from anybody with more experience than me would be highly appreciated.. Thank you much in advance.

Cheers,

Andre

Edited by andrekeli

Here's my opinion - and it's just my personal view. I am sure you will get views totally the opposite! ;)

My questions are:

1. Is the 0.95 aperture really that much different from F1.4? No

Is it worth the jump? No (I owned/used a Noct for about a year. I used it for a couple of months with great enthusiasm and then, 7-8 months later realized I was never using it so I sold it)