get M8 whilst waiting for M9?

newtoleica

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

Having got a 75/2 and awaiting delivery of a 35/1.4 ASPH, it seems I can't get an M9 for 3-4 months in the UK. I'm toying with the idea of getting an M8 in the interim that I can then either sell on or keep as a spare body. They seem to go for 1500-1800 UKP. As I'm new to rangefinders, it might be a good idea.

Couple of questions:

1. Apart from the slightly lower MP, 1.3 crop and the need for a UV filter, any other 'issues' compared with the M9?

2. I use a Nikon D3 at present, and I'm not expecting that sort of lack of noise from either, but at say ISO 800, would there be much difference in shadow noise between the M8 and M9? If so how many stops, and what are the M8 files like if the shadows are pushed up say 2 EV in pp?

3. Anything I should look out for in a used model? (8.2 versions seem pretty scarce....)

Thanks!

Brendan

I'd suggest a film body. Full frame, no filters, etc. £1500 gets a very decent M film body.

Thought about it. Gave up film 10 years ago, no space for a darkroom, no time, fully digital workflow, and hate the appearance of scanned film. So that's a non starter.

Hi Brendan,

When the M8 was first released, I also made the switch from SLR's to a Rangefinder. The M8 is an awesome camera and the perfect learning tool when you are new to RF's. Apart from a few technical features and the full frame vs crop factor issues, the M8 is an excellent tool.

Aside from that is is does make an excellent backup body to the M9 - or you can use both when you shoot with different focal lengths without having to change lenses.

Go for it, at least that way by the time you get your M9, you will have gotten the hang of RF's.

Andreas

PS: The 75 Cron makes an excellent portrait lens on the M8

Edited by andit
Added the PS