M8 Sensor Cleaning

rpsawin

Advertisement (gone after registration)

It appears the sensor in my M8 needs to be cleaned. I have no experience doing this on an M8. I have done it on a Nikon D100 with limited success. Have any of you cleaned the sensor in your M8? Please share your experience and recommend which supplies to use.

Thanks in advance for your comments,

Bob

Bob, this is a frequent topic (on the M8, M9, digital and customer forum sections). You might want to first explore the search box on the top right (use words like 'M8 sensor cleaning' ) and you'll pull up loads of threads. Once you've gotten a broad range of responses, you might have some more specific questions to pose.

FWIW, I'm in the camp of using a Giotto-type blower first, then if necessary, wet swabbing with Eclipse. But, others have their own preferences....Visible Dust products, sticky devices, etc., and even some who use expensive microscopes from other professional fields.

Here's one approach...Copper Hill Images - CCD/CMOS Cleaning Tutorial - Introduction

Jeff

Do a search of YouTube for a bunch of videos showing technic...

Viewing a few should get you over the initial fear of poking inside your camera...

(Though my first favorite will most likely scare even a veteran sensor cleaner!)

Here are a few of my favorites:

YouTube - Jared wonders why he has a sensor dust problem?...

Edited by sfokevin

I previously posted parts of this in a M9 thread. I have had a persistent dust spot problem with my used M8.

My first step was to set the M8 on Sensor Cleaning, trip the shutter, remove the lens and, holding the camera in a face-down position, blowing gently upward around all areas of the open camera with a rocket blower without sticking the blower nozzle inside of the camera. This removed many dust spots, but not all.

I then tried a sensor brush after charging the brush by blowing air through it. A few dust spots still remained.