Leica M6 Newbie

Janek

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everybody!

A few days ago I bought a Leica M6 with a f2/35mm and a f2.8/50mm lenses. I am a bloddy newbie to the M-system and have a few questions I hope you could answer.

How can I focus objects outside the split-focus-screen? I don't like my primary object of interest in the middle of an image. Can anybody give me some piece of advice on that and on how I can play with selective depth of field? Any good book on how to get used to the M-Philosophy, how to get easily into it and work with it?

I haven't developed those few rolls of film I have shot yet. How many rolls of film did you shoot 'til you got used to your Leica M on average?

I am looking forward to your replies!

Merry Xmas and a happy new year from Germany!

Janek

It's such a silly thing you'll be surprised not thinking about it by yourself: just focus you subject (in the middle), then reframe and put it anywhere you like in the viewfinder, then shoot.

welcome to the forum and to the M cameras.

Regarding books, this is supposed to be a good one and a real classic in the topic of M-photography.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1579906370/ref=wl_it_dp/202-3439988-7059004?ie=UTF8&coliid=I1AHK9QI56WH1J&colid=3U8HYVFIBWVUO

I'm still getting used myself to the camera, so can't help you with the second part of your post.

Have fun!!

Welcome Janek to the Forum!

thewave.sml.gif

I like to position my point of interest at the intersection of the bottom-rightmost third of the composition. So I focus on that point of interest, and then swing the camera back to the left and snap.

As far as selective focus, just about any aperture on an M lens wide of f4 will give you a nice isolation of the subject. Just try to shoot at the higher shutter speeds and you should like your results.

And regarding books, I'm sure there are many...but your best support will be right here on this Forum.

Thanks.

Allan

Guest Bernd Banken

Hi Janek,