eapple

What are the advantages, if any, of setting the M9 menu to Black & White instead of just converting the color DNG file to B&W at the time of post-processing in Aperture, Lightroom, or Photoshop etc.?

It's easier to think in B/W if you work in B/W. Then dump the JPG's and convert the DNG's.

It's easier to think in B/W if you work in B/W. Then dump the JPG's and convert the DNG's.

Thanks, Brett. A good point. I also was wondering if the B&W image quality would be better using this menu setting.

You get a lot more flexibility in post, whether you do your BW conversion in Lightroom, Aperture or Photoshop - or use plug-ins such as AlienSkin Exposure or Nik SilverEfex. Only issue then is how much time you have given the virtually endless options provided by software tools.

I've been using a M9 for 4 months now. My M9 is my first digital camera after 40 years of Hasselbald and Rolleiflex for B&W and 18 years of Leica M6 (mainly for Color Slides Ekta & Velvia, but B&W as well when travelling "light", I'm not a professional).

All my B&W are done to be printed, usually in pretty large format (between 24*30 cm & 50*60 => 10 to 24 inches). So for me the B&W quality of the M9 where a big issue and I thought that I would probably keep the large format & film processing for my best B&W. I was wrong, with the M9 dng, LR 3.0 beta & Epson 3880 my prints are better than the old ones: the matts are darker, no more dust and more supple to process.

I'm taking the pictures in Dng, color, full def and converting in post-processing. With this approach I can apply the filters at hand during the devellopment (push yellow, orange or red to detail the sky or green to detail the trees), that a dream for a B&W photographer.

With the Grain control of Lightroom, I'm almost at the Tri-X look & feel.

The M9 ISO2500 is better than an Ilford 3200 and with the 35mm 1.4 I can shoot almost everywhere without a tripod (old churches interior at 1/15sec, or candelighed portrait @ 1/8sec).