Digilux 3 built-in flash problem

LVSBB6

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been using my Digilux 3 since Sept 2007 with no issues...until today while attempting to take family dinner photos.

I popped the built-in flash in the normal position (straight on flash), however the flash did not work! The flash display on the screen is showing as OFF so I couldn't get the flash working.

I then switched the flash to the bounch flash position, and it worked fine in that position.

However, once I press the [FLASH] button fully into the normal position, it just wouldn't light up! I tried turning the camera off and taking out the battery, but still didn't fix the problem.

I went home and read through the manual and couldn't figure out what is wrong...

The camera has been babied since day one, it has never been dropped. This just happened out of nowhere.

Has anyone experienced similar problem on their Digilux 3? Your input is greatly appreciated!

Edited by LVSBB6

After spoken with Leica and my local authorized dealer, they suggested me to send back to NJ to have it diagnose and fix. The D3 comes with 3 years warranty so I hope this wouldn`t costs more than the postal fees to fix.

Sorry to hear about this problem.

I got mine March 2007, no problem until now (Touch wood)

As soon I read about this I checked and it works fine.

Sorry I cannot help you.

• 5 years later...

I have been using my Digilux 3 since Sept 2007 with no issues...until today while attempting to take family dinner photos.

I popped the built-in flash in the normal position (straight on flash), however the flash did not work! The flash display on the screen is showing as OFF so I couldn't get the flash working.

I then switched the flash to the bounch flash position, and it worked fine in that position.