Peter Walker

Advertisement (gone after registration)

:)

Just a little post to welcome myself to the Leica forum as I am about to become a brand new Leica owner - well, as soon as Leica deliver my M9, that is.

I've been a photographer since the late 1970's. My photography is a combination of travel photography, portrait photography and underwater photography. Most of the last 20 years, I have been shooting medium format, most recently a Hasselblad 205FCC with the digital CFV-16 back.

Some proud moments in my photography life include:

- Center spread in Hasselblad's Focus magazine

- Published 20 images on Singapore and Malaysian heritage sites in ASEAN photo book

- Published in several travel and underwater magazines

- Set up one of the very earliest web-based photo galleries in 1997, and still going...

For travel photography, my technique involves getting up with the sun and wandering the streets of whichever city I happened to be in, mainly around Asia, looking for interesting, unusual or attractive things / people to photograph. I would often walk 5 to 10 kms between 6am and 10am. But I was getting weary of lugging around a big camera, heavy lenses and a big tripod, every time I wanted to photograph something. I figured that, one day, someone would make a smaller camera that could produce images of an acceptable quality to my Hasselblad.

It appears to me that the M9 is that camera. Over the next few months, I am going to enjoy trying to prove that hypothesis.

I'll keep the Hasselblad for "planned" portrait photography.

As for underwater photography, do you think I will ever be brave enough to seal the M9 and a wide-angle lens in a housing and take it under the sea? Watch this space...

Regards

Peter

You can see some of my work at http://www.peterwalker.com

As for underwater photography, do you think I will ever be brave enough to seal the M9 and a wide-angle lens in a housing and take it under the sea? Watch this space...