yellowish rectangle on the screen

Manolo Laguillo

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

having bought a 2nd hand M8 + 28/2.8 Elmarit days ago, and being extremely satisfied with it, I would like to introduce myself.

I am a professional photographer since the 70's, working mainly outdoors (architecture and landscape), with view cameras (6x12, 4x5, 8x10) and B&W. I used a Fuji 6x9 (a RF with a 90mm), handheld, as a sort of 'point & shoot' camera.

With the advent of dig photogr. I began using years ago the 5D with 24 and 45 TS lenses, and colour, and am very satisfied with it. The D-Lux 4 was giving me big pleasure, but was not exactly what I wanted. Only with the M8 I'm having again the incredible feeling I had with the 6x9 Fuji RF.

In the last 2 days I have been reading through many threads in this forum, and I am impressed by the collective knowledge and helpfulness present in this group. So I want to ask you if it is normal that on the M8's LCD a yellowish and very pale and very soft rectangle appears, only visible when the picture is a light and homogenous color (the blue sky and with no clouds overexposed, for instance). It is the perimeter of a rectangle, in the centre of the screen. On the picture there is nothing like that, of course!

Since the camera has a 12 month garantee, I have time to ask for a repair or a refund.

I will very much appreciate any help! Thank you in advance!

Manolo Laguillo

Does it look kinda like this?:

170813d1257027261-burned-imprint-display-m8-screen.jpg

It has been nicknamed the coffee ring - the LCD cover has a broken seal that allowed air and condensation in between the cover and the LCD screen - It will get progressively worse as cycles of condensation bring in more & more small dust particles... It needs to be sent to Leica to repair.

http://www.l-camera-forum.com/leica-forum/leica-m8-forum/104392-burned-imprint-display.html