D-LUX4 Image Colours Appearing Dull

gregory80

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, This may sound like a silly question.. I have been using a D-LUX4 for a few months and on the weekend was the first time i really looked through a lot of the photo's on my PC. When i take the picture and view it on the camera display, the colours are vibrant and bright however when i view it on my display at home they are significantly muted, reds are peachy, dark wood on a cabinet for example shows up light and with little detail, sky shots are a ligher blue rather than the rich blue on the photo. Is there something that can be altered on the camera or would it perhaps be an issue with my display? Bearing in mind i am using a Toshiba laptop which is 4 years old to view the images. I would really appreciate your input!

If you are shooting 'raw', they will look different until after processing. Has you laptop a calibrated screen? If not, you cannot trust that either. Try viewing images on a desktop with calibrated monitor if you can find a friend with one. Then you will have a more accurate idea.

Thanks, i am shooting in JPEG which is why i was baffled at why the colours looked so dull on my computer. My screen isn't calibrated, its a standard Toshiba Satellite laptop i bought 4 years ago. Could this perhaps be the issue? Given that when i view the images back on the camera screen, they appear crisp and full of colour. Cheers

hi there

i have had the panasonic LX3 for all of 2 days now and have taken a total of two color pictures (all others were grayscale).

my camera LCD shows VERY vivid colors compared to my (uncalibrated) laptop screen..... in fact when i compare what i see with my eyes and look into the camera's LCD, the LCD colors are much more vivid than the actual scene..... this is probably what you are also experiencing .... go out and compare what you actually see with what the LCD shows.