Vertical Line Problem Resurrected

sleuthin1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

After reading this forum, I've come to learn that I'm resurrected an old topic and I'm sorry for doing so (particularly after witnessing how nasty some folks can be when old news is new news again). But I need some help. I'm new to Leica and recently purchased an M8. Tonight I took it out and shot parts of Downtown Las Vegas at ISO1250. Some great shots and then quite surprised when I noticed several images had vertical lines in the same place; also noticed several others had a thick vertical (top to bottom) in the middle of the image. I sent an email to Leica support in NJ; waiting to hear back. In the meantime, I've downloaded two images. Aside from the bad composition, any diagnosis about the lines?

Matt

Las Vegas

Only image I was able to download.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

I can help you with that. The thick middle line is a result of the two sensor halves being readout at two positions and the two results not being equalised correctly.

So what you see is not a line but a difference in brightness between the two halves. You might also notice that the image gets brighter to the left and right edge of the sensor.

The vertical lines that stay in the same lines result from a hot or stuck or dead pixel, one can send it to the service to let them map those pixels in the firmware.

I've developed a tool that removes all those effects, so if you're interested I can show you how...

• Like 1

Image comparison: top its what the M8's image normally looks like... Down ia after the tool correction.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Like 1