Has any one used a "photo vest"

laglaph

I had something like that AND I'm 6 foot 5, ALTHOUGH I don't have a moustache (anymore), I still felt like a berk. And I kept on looking in all the pockets where I left the lens cap / converter / 15mm lens / whatever. So I gave it away and am a happy man.

A small camera bag, one or two lenses, that's it for me.

I used to wear one to events in Santa Barbara and it got me in to the press area without a pass every time. Depending on what you're carrying they are kinda handy to work out of, with Leica M lenses you can free yourself up from a bag. With SLR gear, especially 70-200 lenses and big L series and Nikkor pro series glass they can get a bit heavy and tight around the neck area. If you can work your way through the "I'm a Photographer!!!!!!" and a geek perception they really are not a bad way to go.

One thing they can be useful for is if you're flying and your photo gear hand baggage is overweight. Generally the airlines don't bother but if they do you can transfer items into the vest pockets and have it X-rayed as clothing. I always take mine when flying but rarely use it on location.

Bob.

• Like 1

Vests do enjoy a certain popularity with pros and wannabe pros. They do distribute the load across both shoulders, and back damage due to asymmetrical loads is a common occupational hazard among newspaper photogs.

The problem is of course that no vest that I know of, or can even imagine, can take a system camera body with even a small lens. Probably not even a M with a standard lens. So the camera(s) have to love in the great otdoors, being rained on, snowed on, dropped ice cream on, and bashed. ---The most rational carrying system would be a two-shoulder webbing harness with belt and attachable and interchangeable pouches for long lenses, short lenses, monstruous lenses and for odds and ends. But such a rig would look too military, I presume. And it could get you shot in quite a few places we all know about.