M6 shutter noise at low speeds

Advertisement (gone after registration)

First of all, hello to the forum members for the first time! :)

A week ago I purchased a quite minty M6 from Ebay and it just got to my house. This is my first Leica, so I have no previous experience to compare with. At first I was overwhelmed by the feeling of the body, its weight, size, etc. Then I pressed the shutter release button for the first time and just loved the sound and feeling of it. I was happy. then I started checking the different shutter speeds and noticed something that made me worry, and this is the reason why I'm writing this post. I'll try to explain the issue a clearly as possible:

The shutter noise is clean and short at fast speeds, down to 1/60 s. From that speed on I can hear a mechanism noise that goes on after the "click". After the first crisp shutter sound, there is a second lighter, slightly drawn-out sound, a kind of "zip"; the slower the speed, the longer the sound (I would say it goes on while the shutter is open, actually). I have never owned a Leica M camera before, so I can't really know if this is normal or not. I've already researched the web and this forum about this, and I've read that there is a distinctive sound after the shutter release at 1/15 s which description is similar to what I hear in my camera. The problem here is that I can hear a "post-noise" in all the slow speeds down to 1 second. For those familiar with old Rolleiflex TLR cameras, it is similar to the shutter noise of these cameras at those same speeds (sounds a bit like old mechanical timers, but much more silent).

The camera is in a very good, almos unused condition, so I would be surprised by a mechanical flaw, to be honest.

I hope you can help me, thank you in advance to all of you,

J.

Welcome! This is totally normal, to hear the mechanism "winding down"after a shutter release. Don't worry and just use your new friend :)

Edited by jaapv