Leica 12504 Hood on new version Summicron (11673)?

Aktenschrank

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, 

does anybody know if the replacement vented metal hood 12504 that fitted the older Version V Summicron 35 will also fit the VI version (11673)? There´s a ring included with the newer version to cover the outward facing thread, my hope is that if you use this ring, the 12504 hood still fits. Anybody tried this (or is able to help out trying it)?

Many thanks for your help!

Ciao, 

Markus

Seems like nobody has tried it yet :) I´m going to buy one and report back just in case the question comes up again...   And in case you wonder why the hell I´d like to attach the 12504 hood instead of the new metal one that comes with the 11673 version... I don´t like the square hood design, and the "Overgaard" vented hood for the 11673 is currently sold out.

Edited by Aktenschrank

The 12504 is nice but it is expensive and offers little protection vs flare. I have no experience with the 35/2 asph v2 but its barrel seems larger than v1's at first glance. I may be wrong though and would be interested by your experience feedback even if i would keep the stock hood if i were you.

Edit: Even if it fits, there would be no grove to clip the hood on i guess so the little "claws" of the latter could damage the black coating of your lens. I would think twice before ordering the 12504 but it's just me.

Edited by lct
  • Like 2

Hi, 

does anybody know if the replacement vented metal hood 12504 that fitted the older Version V Summicron 35 will also fit the VI version (11673)? There´s a ring included with the newer version to cover the outward facing thread, my hope is that if you use this ring, the 12504 hood still fits. Anybody tried this (or is able to help out trying it)?