M240 Tripod Head suggestions

ECohen

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I usually don't use a tripod but lately, shoots have come up where it would have been helpful.

My 4X5 cameras Gitzo is always at home....I think its time to sell that beast.

I've decided on Gitzos Traveler either Series 0 or 1........ I'm still deciding on the exact height.

I'm stuck on the perfect head. I have no experience with the quick release and their base plates.
I am aware of RSS and the 240 plate, they sell but if at all possible, I want to stay away from the RSS company.....and it should be possible.

Anyone have experience with the Gitzo head GH 1383 TQD? It is the head Gitzo recommends for the Traveler line.

Also what brand of base plate is preferred ? I have a feeling choosing the best plate is going to be a real pain in the butt......I'd like to get it right on the first go round

Cost is not a factor but my good sense says to keep it under $1000

All suggestions welcome.... especially if I'm headed in the wrong direction

As always thank you

I have the Gitzo 0545 Traveller and I paired it with the Markins q3t. Nice compact, simple system. But not cheap.

And I got the RRS base for the M240. It adds a bit of weight and bulk over a separate QR plate, but it is convenient.

As an example of the added bulk, I could slide my M240 with standard baseplate into my Domke F5XB without problems, but the little bit of extra height added by the RRS replacement baseplate is enough to cause it to catch.

Edited by LocalHero1953
  • Like 1

This is the tripod head that I use:  https://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=124665&gclid=CJLfs4Kmw9ICFcm1wAod95sGGg&Q=&ap=y&m=Y&c3api=1876%2C92051677682%2C&is=REG&A=details  Best tripod head I have ever had. 

I use a Really Right Stuff quick release clamp on the head with the Really Right Stuff M240 base plate  http://www.reallyrightstuff.com/BM240-Replacement-base-for-M240