recommendations for a buy once keep forever M

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've been working as a stills photographer for some 30 years. I've gone through all the cameras, formats and digitalisations.

I've used digital since the £7000 Canon 1Ds because my job demands it. 

I've been given a modest amount of money by a close relative and I would like to buy a Leica with it. A film Leica. Film mostly because I prefer film and it will last longer than a digital.

I don't have a lot of money but enough to buy a used M. My question is: which M should i buy? I'm not too concerned about measuring the light and I'll use only 35mm and 50mm lenses.

Do put in your two cents (I'm English, and i know that's an Americanism). Particularly interested to hear from seasoned Leica film shooters.

In grateful anticipation.

• Like 1

For £1000 you can buy an M6 (built in meter) and make a pinhole lens. Or you could buy an M2/3/4-2/4-P and maybe a 5cm 2.8 or 3.5 Elmar, or a Voigtlander lens. 

The differences are the frame lines each model has or hasn't. 

Buy from a dealer with warranty to avoid the potential cost of a CLA if you buy off ebay and find your new camera has some fault. 

You might look after a M5, f. e. at meister-camera in Munich you’ll find some. Ffordes doesn’t have a M5 currently.

I bought one last year from a private seller, after a CLA it works very fine. Before that CLA only fine ;)

To find a nice VC Color Skopar 35/ 2,5 should be a minor problem, even in UK.

• Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)