Image problems

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone

I took my Q out down the river Tyne today as it was a beautiful clear sunny day. I've just downloaded my photos, and they are a mix between being overexposed, way to hi ISO and from a dirt cheap sensor.

The clouds were almost pixelated, the colours very flat and there was a lot of noise. I took it out two weeks ago on another winters day and it was fantastic.

Auto shutter speed/ISO aperture priority.

Any ideas. I've double checked all the settings!

If you're out shooting pictures on a nice day, and don't expect the exposure values to change drastically (as in going inside a building, etc.), don't use auto ISO. Pick an ISO setting yourself - on a nice day, 100, 200, etc. If you do go inside, boost it up some to 800, 1600, if needed. You're ceding way too much control of the camera, to the camera. In my experience (and I've been a pro photojournalist for more than 40 years, using digital for 15), auto ISO on this and the other cameras I've used doesn't work all that well. I never use auto ISO, even in the faster-paced assignments I shoot like the campaign trail. I change it for the conditions I'm shooting in. That means changing on the fly if necessary. The more control you have over your camera (and this assumes you know something about basic exposure theory) the more consistent your pictures will be. You want to be taking the pictures, not letting the camera taken them for you. You may have also gotten the metering system into spot metering or some other mode where the meter is reading the the wrong part of the frame. Try going through your menus and see what your settings are, or reset them to defaults and start from scratch. 

Edited by beez
  • Like 3