What should be the next SL len?

Hoppe

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm a beginner in SL system. Own the 24-90mm.

As I think of not using the zoom len all the time, so what should be my next len to get for street/portrait photography? I'm considering the Summilux 50mm SL or Sumicron 35mm SL?

Your suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

It is traditional on any web forum for responses to simple questions to be along the lines of "you've asked the wrong question - what you really want is........"

So my first response is that IMO the SL is not a good camera for street photography: too large, too indiscreet etc.

My second response is that if you must use the SL, then the 24-90 zoom is an excellent range and has excellent functionality for street photography and, given the natural limitations of the street, you will not notice any difference in IQ compared to a prime. I realise that you may prefer a wider aperture.

My third response is that, if you want one lens for street and portrait, then, in your shoes, I'd wait for the Summicron-SL 75. I'm waiting for the Summicron-SL 90 just for portrait, but I'm certainly happy using my Apo-Summicron-M 75 just for street (on the M).

My fourth response is that the Summicron-SL 35 will not be available until Spring 2018, so if you must have something from your list now, then you have a choice of one - the 50.

:p

• Like 3

It is traditional on any web forum for responses to simple questions to be along the lines of "you've asked the wrong question - what you really want is........"

So my first response is that IMO the SL is not a good camera for street photography: too large, too indiscreet etc.

My second response is that if you must use the SL, then the 24-90 zoom is an excellent range and has excellent functionality for street photography and, given the natural limitations of the street, you will not notice any difference in IQ compared to a prime. I realise that you may prefer a wider aperture.