Noctilux .95 vs Mitakon .95 thread...

Donzo98

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am new to Leica... and waiting on my SL to arrive.

I found this today....

https://www.talkemount.com/threads/quick-comparison-leica-50mm-f-0-95-noctilux-and-mitakon-speedmaster-ii-dark-knight-50mm-f-0-95.9773/

Basically the OP tested the Noct against the Speedamaster... and likes the latter better.

What do you guys think??

What do I think?

Can I be honest?

I absolutely do not care about what a nobody blogger in need of attention thinks about Leica lenses and photography in general.

There's too much of those tasteless and talentless folks, with their unimportant thoughts.

What do I think?

Can I be honest?

I absolutely do not care about what a nobody blogger in need of attention thinks about Leica lenses and photography in general.

There's too much of those tasteless and talentless folks, with their unimportant thoughts.

It's interesting to me that a lens that costs 10K plus can even be challenged by one under 1K...

I have a Noct 0.95 on it's way to me... so I'm hoping the guy's full of crap actually.

Edited by Donzo98

Having owned and used a Noctilux f/0.95 I would warn anyone to try and buy before ownership. It is huge, weighs 700mgs, and blocks the viewfinder. If you are young, strong, and able to see around corners then it is an amazing lens.

If you don't fit the bill then don't bother.

Speedamaster may have produced something else that compares. So what? The concept of a huge lens on a rangefinder makes no sense at all to me.

• Like 5

Having owned and used a Noctilux f/0.95 I would warn anyone to try and buy before ownership. It is huge, weighs 700mgs, and blocks the viewfinder. If you are young, strong, and able to see around corners then it is an amazing lens.

If you don't fit the bill then don't bother.

Speedamaster may have produced something else that compares. So what? The concept of a huge lens on a rangefinder makes no sense at all to me.