New guy needs advice on Leica purchase

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm a long-time photographer and almost as old as dirt.  Back in the late 1960s, the US Army gave me a job as a combat photographer and issued a Leica M-2R and a Nikon F.  Those cameras served me well and, after years of using various Nikons, I'm ready to get "back to the basics of life," as Waylon once crooned.  

After some research, I've decided upon an M-P (240).  The lenses I think I need are a 50mm 1.4, 35mm 2.0 and, maybe, either a 90mm or 135mm.  Am I going in a wrong direction?  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Mike

Welcome Mike. In the absence of clues regarding your photographic goals as far as subjects are concerned, I would suggest you search the forum for lens choices. It is so personal. For many years I worked with M3 + 28/50/90 with the 90 least used. When I adopted M8 digital I added 35 (Summicron) and 75 (Summarit). With full-frame I favour 28+35+50 with occasional use of longer lenses.

I fear you will receive many variants and finish up being confused by the recommendations. I suggest you analyse your most recent full-frame digital photography to see which of your focal lengths served you best of all. That should provide you with a sound bench-mark for selecting your new collection. (I use Lightroom to carry out the exercise I have just suggested to you. Just filter twelve months work by selecting focal length in the metadata  panel)