New Leica M9 Shooter!

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello, 

Just wanted to introduce myself to the forum. I have been lurking here for quite a while but have never owned a Leica. Always wanted one (since I started shooting) but just couldn't afford it until now. I bought a used M9 and Voigtlander 50mm f1.1! This combo really makes my photos sing. I am sure Leica glass is far superior but this is all I could afford to start off with. 

So a little background:

I grew up in the midwest and joined the Marines right out of high school. Worked on air traffic control radar systems (as a technician not a controller) during my 5 year enlistment. Got out and decided I would attend college at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. I was working towards a bachelors in aviation business but after 1.5 years I realized I didn't enjoy it. I just couldn't get used to the idea of working in a office building wearing a suit everyday. I then started applying for just about any electronics technician job that would pop up online. I eventually got lucky and secured a job with the National Weather Service. This has given me the opportunity to move around quite a bit. I started in Indiana, then Hawaii for a spell, then of to Las Vegas, and I now live in Kansas City, Missouri. 

I have never been into photography and it wasn't until my daughter was born that I realized I liked taking pictures. I don't have an artistic bone in my body so I do not consider myself a photographer but more of a "snap-shooter". I am working on composition and getting the right light to tell the story in which I try to convey but I know I struggle way more than someone who just "sees the picture" in their mind.