Advice on transitioning to Leica M 262 (not M-D)

Bobby

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello,

I have been a hobbyist photographer for about four years, and I recently transitioned from DSLR to mirrorless (Sony a7r ii). 

I love my camera, and I mostly do urban landscape, street photography and natural landscape. 

Although I am very good with technology (I have a background in engineering), I have to admit I'm a little tired of menus and technology, and I find the simplicity of Leica what I'm looking for. 

However, I have some concerns about moving to Leica. 

I sometime do studio modelling (again, for fun). Will I be able to nail the focus, or should I accept the idea of not accepting as much precision as I could with a mirrorless/DSLR?

I hear people seeing that the quality of Leica lenses is stellar. But, is the 24mpx an issue in an era where we have 42mpx photos and soon 80mpx?

Thank you, 

24's plenty ....unless you make posters or crop away the sensor.....or want to chase megapixels

For years Pros shot manual focus for everything, including models with studio lights ....Do you want to adapt?

You'll have trouble with focus if the model is moving and your at f/2....So stop down a little and zone focus.

With electronic flash F/8 and nice place to be so ....no problem...again it depends.

Honestly you have lots of control in the studio if you don't mind giving up auto focus for a simpler way of working the M is  a joy to use.

Go for it and be free of the layers and layers of menu's and useless features

I would keep my Sony as I get used to the M.......occasionally you may want auto everything