Advertisement (gone after registration)

29718517096_69bcaf20c2_b.jpg

Leica MP w/50mm Summicron on Ilford FP 4+ in HC 110 H for 7.75mins at 20 C

A woman shooting heroin on the sidewalk in Pioneer Square, Seattle.

This is one of those shots that I am always torn as to shoot or walk on by.  Street photography is new to me, really just began when I moved to Seattle and worked in a downtown office. I walk at lunch time to get out in the world away from A/C and artificial light. In three years this is one of the most depressing things I've come across, a woman shooting heroin in the middle of the day in public.  

• Like 1

Thank you both.  The housing problem for the homeless is a serious problem in Seattle, as evidenced by the tents on the sidewalk in the background of this image. The city has set up "tent cities" ala "Hoovervilles" from the Depression but he number of homeless is increasing and the tent cities keep growing, even around City Hall.  

This is my first time working in an urban office after many years at sea and then ashore in an office on the water in Fort Lauderdale so maybe I'm naive but really had no idea of the magnitude of the problem of the homeless/mentally ill/addicted population.

I've started a "Street Photography" gallery at my sailronin.smugmug.com website and have been surprised at the number of views, so maybe a bit of exposure (not much but maybe it can help) for the problem in Seattle.

Dave

Edited by Sailronin

Thank you both. The housing problem for the homeless is a serious problem in Seattle, as evidenced by the tents on the sidewalk in the background of this image. The city has set up "tent cities" ala "Hoovervilles" from the Depression but he number of homeless is increasing and the tent cities keep growing, even around City Hall.