R8 Questions

cary

I am considering purchasing a R8 and have noticed that prices are very affordable. Is it a good user? Using 3 cam lenses what features do I lose instead of using ROM lenses? I am a retired Industrial/Scientific photographer, and use a M3, IIIA, and IIIF.

Hi,

ROM, R only or 3 cam lenses will all work. ROM told the camera some stuff about the lens if you were using TTL flash (i.e. on a zoom what focal length it was). ROM had more use with the DMR digital back, recording lens details in EXIF data.

The R8 is good but an R9 is better and prices aren't much different these days so I'd go for the R9 in preference. Or my favourite R, the R3.

ROM lenses also have another property. Every ROM lens has its own aperture closing dynamics and exact value individually measured and recorded on its ROM chip. This allows the last ounce of performance and accuracy out of the R8 or R9 shutter and metering systems. Also, with a ROM extender, the modified aperture is automatically computed and displayed in the camera viewfinder, since an onboard microprocessor in such an extender talks to both the lens and the camera. On balance therefore, for an R8 or R9, I would be inclined to pay the extra and get ROM lenses. As James says though, three cam and R cam only lenses will also work perfectly well.

I entirely agree with James about preferring an R9 over an R8. (Apart from anything else, as well as the extra features, there have been reports of failing meter cells on older R8's, and the repair is uneconomic)

• Like 1

R8 is almost the same as R9 in use. It is a great camera. Just bear in mind that R8 as well as the R9 will be totally loss if something major breaks. Repairing can be costly and will easily go over the price an other R8. The R9 has a bit better reputation, but is almost double the price in my part of the world.