How to use the SF64 flash off camera

david perry

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, can anyone enlighten me please as to how I might use the SF64 flash off camera? Please forgive my ignorance, I am just getting started with fill-in flash. Is there a cable to link the two via the PC socket, or do I need to buy a wireless trigger, and if so, which do you recommend? Many thanks, your wisdom will be much appreciated.

David

Both those options, plus using it as a "slave" triggered by another flash mounted on your camera.

My preference is a wireless trigger, but none of the options will give you TTL metering or control of the flash from the camera: M or A modes are your main choices.

There's a separate current thread on wireless triggers somewhere on the forum. I use Pocket Wizards – they are excellent but I've had them some years and I know there are much cheaper good ones around.

Edit: http://www.l-camera-forum.com/topic/260167-looking-for-a-small-cheap-and-simple-wireless-flash-trigger-system/

Edited by LocalHero1953
  • Like 1

I do not own the SF64 but have found my SF58's TTL working perfectly on my SL with the FW2.0 as a On Camera Flash.

For Off camera flash, unlike Nikon & canon, there is no available 3rd party wireless radio trigger maker supporting Leica S/M/SL/T cameras. Nikon camera cords are only Off Camera Flash available if TTL flash control is desired.

I am using 4 Pocketwizard Plus IIIs to wirelessly control manual 3 LumoPro Manual Camera Flash. Apart from no HSS functional available on this setup, as the SL has great ISO range and a good dynamic range based on sensor resolution, I do not miss the TTL function. I would firstly determine the exposure on camera manually w/o the flash then set the flash power to fill in light to the subject rather than using flash determine the exposure.

Below an example I've taken 2 years ago on my wife and daughter using my M240 with one off Camera flash (Pocketwizard + LumoPro 160):