90-280 tele versus f4/280 and 70-180 on the SL

Helmut99

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello,

I'm new to this forum but enjoy and it helps quite a bit to learn the SL beyond manuals. I'm also fairly new to photography, never had a DSLR but have been using the M240 for about 2 years and Have been enjoying my new hobby a lot. Just recently got the SL with 24-90 after putting a lot of thought into why spending more money into more gear. As for R tele lenses, I own the f2.8 Vario 70-180 and the f4 280.

My question: has anyone parted from one of those two R lenses (or both) to fund the 90-280? And if yes, why and are you still happy with the decision?

I'm planning an Alaska trip in summer and not sure what to do.

Any idea or comment would be appreciated.

I did a road trip from Denver to Phoenix recently with the SL and a kit of R lenses including the 70-180 and 280/2,8. I have those lenses since many years and wanted to use them again properly. 

It was really fun thanks to the car and the tripod. For hikes I had to leave the 280 ++ in the car or hotel. And several times I only took the 28-90. If I had to do it again, I would leave the 280 at home and rely on the Apo-Exender 2x. 

I also made a trip to Alaska last summer with 5D MIII, 24-105 and 100-400 + Extender 1,4.  

Based on these experiences, in your position, I would switch to the 90-280 for that trip.

The 70-180 is a great lens, but not easy to focus or stabilize handheld.

In Alaska I had a lot of use of the IS and could only really use my tripod twice. 

Obviously it would be even better to have an hypothetical L Apo-Extender X1,4.   :(

• Like 1

Thanks for the input Leicaiste,

I might be putting off the decision until after making the Alaska experience with the 70-180 and both APO extenders. Not sure if I'll take the 280 f4 as well.

If it doesn't work out then I may have to go back to Alaska with a used 90-280 in my bag...they already show on ebay ;-)

• Like 1