Metering Tips

Advertisement (gone after registration)

So i have been using the M6 for 2 weeks now granted I have never used a rangefinder before. Yet I love the feel and the ablilty to see what is going on in the frame. So far I'm still struggling with the red arrows and when I'm close to a subject, my 2 year old daugher the focusing is a bit tough. Any suggestions?

Also I do plan use this camera in a year to photograph weddings(note I have been shooting weddings for 6 years now digitally) and would like to know from those who use the rangefinder for weddings, is it recommend for fast moving sections of the wedding, e.g bride coming down and leaving the isle? Thanks

• Like 1

Hi SJB & welcome to the forum. Photographing any 2yr old who is running around is tough. When my daughter was that age I either used a 35mm Summaron or a 135mm Tele-Elmar lens (only 2 I owned at that time) on my Leica M4, typically used bounced flash indoors, and mostly shot pics when she wasn't moving too much - so yes it is doable. If you can't focus fast enough, plan the shots and focus ahead of where you expect her to be and wait for her to move into the frame. As far as weddings go...it really depends on the wedding and what you plan to shoot. Two years ago I shot that same daughter's 2nd wedding with a Leica - this time I used an  old Barnack with a 50 Elmar 3.5  for an old fashioned look. No I didn't get every shot I wanted, but basically I followed the official photographer around, with her permission, and shot in B&W. Used bounce flash indoors, outdoors was chilly, windy and overcast, but it worked fine. Tip from the photographer which was a revelation...she (using a digital with autofocus of course) always focused on the subjects' feet and then quickly moved the camera up to the subject's eyes....said it gave her a much better keeper ratio. Her results were phenomenal.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…