the idiocy of 33 available shutter speed dial positions for M

Go Figure

Advertisement (gone after registration)

why these useless/convoluted shutter speed dials with "1/2 speed in between" click stops ?

The shutter speed dial has become a ratchet wheel.

when I started shooting Leica M

I first learned which direction to focus the lens

then which direction to stop down the lens

then which direction to go up and down the shutter speed dial

ALL WITHOUT LOOKING !

Yeah they really should have it click in 1/3rd stops by now.  ;-)   Perhaps you'd like to consider that a lot has changed in cameras over the years. Especially the way many people want to use them.

Edited by AlanG
  • Like 2

Which Leica does that?

Well the digital Leica's have half stops.

I suppose it's because it's possible to do it accurately with electronic shutters, and that exposure is more critical for digital imaging. It also means that if you want a set aperture, the best optically or the widest, there is another option to setting the correct exposure. So that's three reasons I thought of in ten seconds, so why couldn't the OP take a bit longer to think before posting?

Steve

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello Mark,

Welcome to the Forum.

Many mechanical "M" film cameras as well as the mechanical Leicaflexes have had variable shutters going back to the 1900's.

With the above mentioned variable shutter cameras: James's 1/148th of a second, just above, was already an available everyday occurrence back in the last Century.*

* There are a small number of "gaps" where some intermediate speeds are not usable.

The current cameras may have a larger number of specific "click" positions between whole stop speed settings. This may be to facilitate electrical contact between the shutter speed wheel & the circuits. This does not necessarily mean that these more recent cameras have more available intermediate positions than some of their predecessors.

Best Regards,

Michael