LUT for SL log footage?

erudolph

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've started testing SL footage using the Da Vinci Resolve application.  The best LUT I've found in there is the Sony SLog3SGamut3.CineToSLog2-709.  What are other people using?

This is cross-posted to getdpi.

Edited by erudolph
  • Like 1

• 4 months later...

I've started testing SL footage using the Da Vinci Resolve application.  The best LUT I've found in there is the Sony SLog3SGamut3.CineToSLog2-709.  What are other people using?

I've been playing around with creating my own 3D LUTs using Davinci Resolve using a Spyder Checker for different lighting scenarios. Hope to be publishing a tutorial on this in the near future.

• Like 4

• 6 months later...

Waking an old topic in case there are new answers.

I'm new to video but would appreciate a LUT to convert SL L-Log footage into Rec.709 footage if someone has developed this...  

Or do others generally just pick a LUT from one of the many packs around. assuming SL log has roughly the same curve as other cameras?

Previously, I've been making my own LUTs in DaVinci Resolve, but on our last project, I used the ARRI ALEXA LUT that comes with Adobe Premiere and I really liked the results. It definitely clipped some of the highlight and shadow range, but the overall look is very nice and colors were very close to that of the SL without much work.

• Like 4

I used the ARRI ALEXA LUT that comes with Adobe Premiere

I must be doing something wrong or misunderstanding.  I took a couple of L-Log clips from the SL, went into the Color workspace in Premiere, and selected Input LUT: ALEXA_Default_LogCRec709.   Is that what you do?

When I used it on my clips, it completely burned out the highlights (I had to correct to -100 highlights and that still wasn't enough).  Is this what happens for you too?  I did get quite natural skin tones though.

Advertisement (gone after registration)