Best quality/price for first time Leica owner?

Kupo43

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hey guys,

Looking to getting into the Leica family and I'm still new to the lens system. Leica orders the quality of their lenses by:

Summarit
Summicron
Summicron M
Summilux
Noctilux

Is that correct? I was wondering which lens is the best "bang for your buck" lens in the line up (if there is such a thing).

From what I've researched, the Summicron seems to be the sweet spot between cost and performance. I am still torn on whether I should go 50 or 35, but I do know that I want a lens that will produce sharp results from wide open all the way to mid aperture. Also, is there a huge difference in the Summicrom and Summicrom M series? Is that even a real thing?

Am I making any sense? I've also heard that the new Zeiss glass is nice as well. I know this has already been discussed in great detail between you guys, but I'm just starting and any  help would be much appreciated. I'm coming from Canon so wish me luck!

Edited by Kupo43

Thank you, I will continue to do my own research using the search function. If anyone has any experiences they would like to share about buying their first lenses for their Leica that might be helpful, it would be wonderful if you would share. Thanks!

FWIW ALL Leica's lenses are very good. There is no real 'quality' difference in their optics to any really significant extent, its more about specification and faster lenses have different uses to slower lenses and are more expensive.

• Like 1

As above, there is no order of rank in terms of quality. The names refer to the fastest aperture (generally).

Whilst Leica lenses are mostly excellent they don't defy the laws of physics and overall performance of any lens will improve when stopped down a few f stops.

I think you should consider a 35 or 50 Summarit or Summicron for your first lens.

• Like 2