Capture One Pro with the S

laybie

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am a newbie here. I am currently awaiting delivery of a new 007, my first venture into medium format. I have been a Capture One user since Aperture 3 was abandoned by Apple and have been very happy using it. I notice however that despite profile support for virtually every other current Leica model, there is no support for the S. Looking back on the C1 blog posts there have been numerous requests for the S models to be recognized by the C1 team but it seems pretty obvious these are being ignored. Are there any current S owners using Capture One and how have they dealt with this?

Comments and help would be much appreciated.

I use C1 for selected images, but LR for all import and basic processing. As medium format the S is considered competing to Phase One, so it is not likely to get support, unfortunately. All other Leicas are supported, and I guess SL is a question of time.

However, DNG Neutral works as a good starting point even for the S007 and I have no problems processing from there. I have asked at LuLa Forum whether anyone has created a C1 profile for S007, but have no responses so far.

Volunteers?

HI,

After Apple announced it was dropping Aperture I signed up to the Adobe Cloud and have been trying to learn Lightroom and Photoshop.

I have been using Capture One for several years (Phase One back and Leica M8 and M9) along with Aperture so was disappointed when it looked like the S was not supported. However I've found that the S (006) .dng files work well with C1 however they tend to oversaturate compared to Lightroom. There is no issued loading or saving the files and it's easy to tone down the color if that is the look you are seeking.

Edited by Sailronin
  • Like 1

When I shot with a Hasselblad I used Phocus and the processed files were better than Adobe because of the full/comprehensive support provided by Phocus.