£1000 to spend on a laptop

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've been doing some extra work this year and I'm expecting an extra £1000 in December's paycheck. I'm using an old Sony VAIO at the moment running windows 10. The backlight has gone on it and it now only works when linked to an external display so not really a laptop anymore! It runs lightroom OK with a 2GHz processor and 2Gig RAM but I'd like something a bit quicker really.

I mostly use my laptop for photo editing, browsing the tinternet and a bit for work usually making PowerPoint's/word/excel documents but not used Microsoft as much since we went Google. I have an unused lightroom licence from my m9 so would be using that for editing.

I'd appreciate your views on what you would recommend, Macbook Pro? I'm a teacher so I think I get a discount on Mac products in the UK.

Sorry if this has been asked before, I did do a quick look through the archives.

Robert, I would second the suggestion to try the Apple refurbished store (we have used it several times), though even there your £1000 budget won't allow a great amount of choice, probably 13" MacBook Pro rather than 15". The selection available varies, so if there's nothing when you first look try again a few days or a week later. One other thing to watch is that 'on-board' memory is more and more common, meaning you will be stuck with whatever the computer comes with. More memory is always better, particularly for Photoshop/Lightroom work; we have 16Gb in both our Mac's, I think 8Gb should be a minimum. Also, more of them comes with a SSD rather than the 'old' type spinning disc hard-drives,

which means a faster computer - again, larger capacity is nicer. Finally, I believe the Retina display's are good for image work, though I've no experience of them myself (I prefer a larger Eizo monitor attached to my MacMini).

Geoff

• Like 1

Thanks for the advice I will have a look! As a teacher I get discount too which might help!