Shot a roll of Tri-X frame by frame at 200, 400, 800, 1600, and 3200

rpavich

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I was mulling over the question of shooting Tri-X at different speeds and was wondering if during a roll, what would happen if I found myself needing to shoot at high ISO and then much lower ISO.

So, I took these shots in my office at work. I developed them in Diafine at the normal 3 minute time.

My scanner automatically compensated for any major deviation in lightness or darkness.

No...they are not great and yes, I have some surge marks but it does answer the question for me; " what if I have to go indoors to shoot a few shots at 1600 when I've already shot most of my roll of Tri-X at 400??"

I just thought it was interesting information. I'm NOT a pro, I'm NOT claiming some special insight...just putting this here for information.

22759215297_80c2840317_k.jpg

• Like 1

Hmmmmm RP, you seem to show that it is OK to vary the speed willy-nilly.

Is that what you glean from this as well?

Looks good.

Gary

Well, what I took away from it is that it's not a disaster to shoot a few frames at a much different ISO than box.

If, during the day I have to overexpose to get a shallow DOF / large aperture then I won't stress on it. Or if I have to come inside and finish a roll in indoor light, I won't stress on that either.

Hmmmmm RP, you seem to show that it is OK to vary the speed willy-nilly.

Is that what you glean from this as well?

Looks good.

The lesson (which seems to have been overlooked) is that Diafine is the deciding factor, not that film can willy-nilly be under exposed. Other types of film will not respond as well, and other developers can do a similar job, so it isn't a general rule that can be applied, and it shouldn't be applied at all if you want to adjust the contrast of the negative in anything like a controllable way. You get what you are served up with Diafine.

Steve

• Like 2