I went from negatives that looked like it was snowing, to no dust at all!

rpavich

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I just wanted to share something that might help others in their quest for less dust on negs.

I am a noob when it comes to developing, and my first several rolls of film were horrible. There were so many scratches, dust, dirt, dog hair and crap on them I thought I'd never create a crap free neg, but I stumbled on a fool proof solution for me!

Here are the elements:

1.) I run a hot shower for two minutes to bring the dust down in the bathroom where the negs will hang (I do it at the end of the washing step).

2.) I turn off the air conditioner and put a towel over the floor vent to minimize circulating air.

3.) I only remove the film from the tank IN the bathroom ready for hanging, no walking around with it. It goes from the tank to the clips.

4.) (I think this is key) I pour the photo-flo from the canister down both sides of my film right after hanging. I think it washes crap off the film...that's my guess.

5.) (another key point I think) I get the scanner ready for the film before it's dry and when I go into the bathroom, I cut the negs off of the clips at the bottom and the top, I don't try to clean off the accumulated moisture at the clips. Once I have a neg in hand, I GO STRAIGHT to the scanner and feed it into the scanner. (a 20 foot trip)

6.) I also wear white-lint-free-cotton-inspection-gloves when handling the negs.

That's it.

Since I've been doing that I've had to clean a total of two TINY dust spots off of my negs in 4 rolls developed. I'm astounded how well it works! No dust at all.

Just thought someone might benefit from something here; I know that I was pulling my hair out with my previous results.

Edited by rpavich
  • Like 3

I too have used, and recommended, the hot shower technique.