AF focus confirmation-function

sturkel

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Just getting up to speed with my Q which delivered today.  Question, I see when using the AF mode that there is first a red rectangle which turns to green.  What is the red one confirming ?  Also, I see I can fire the shutter without focus lock (red rectangle).  In looking at the menus I do not see a setting for preventing the camera from operating unless focus is locked while in the AF mode.

Love to get some clarification, thanks of the help.

Cheers

Stan

Having taken the time to re-read the manual I did confirm the following:

The red rectangle is an indication of Focus Lock failure, and yes you can fire shutter with a missed focus lock.  

I am new to an auto focus Leica and this mode is new to me, as well.  I assume many are using the Q in a manual focus mode.

Cheers

If you read the manual you will find that when AF is set to AF-S, the shutter will not fire until AF is achieved.  If you set it to AF-C, it will fire whether AF is achieved or not.

Page 174 under AF-s "–– It is not possible to take a picture before it comes into focus, even if the shutter button is pressed all the way down beforehand."

Page 175 under AF-c "–– Even if no part of the subject is in focus, a picture can be taken at any time."

Interestingly, I tried both settings and the camera focuses so fast that in either mode I would up with in focus images just pointing the camera and snapping the shutter quickly.  I was shooting targets at various distances and they were obviously out of focus before I pressed the shutter button.  Maybe it would be different in lower light.  I will test this evening.