Best way to capture replicas of paintings

davidcolemandc

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, I'm new to the S and 70mm lens. I absolutely love it! More than I thought I would. I need to take reproductions of paintings for a friend of mine. She is the artist of the paintings.

What's the best lighting setup using the Leica S? So far I've read two strobes (with a softbox) at 45 degree angle of the painting. Painting on an upright stand. Is this the best setup or would you get too much texture from side-lighting?

Thank you for any suggestions.

David

Edited by davidcolemandc

Yes, it's the most popular setup for copying flat art. Some use cross polarization with the gels on the lights and polarizer on the lens and profile the camera.

Usually, with two lights at 45 degrees, there is no texture exposed. If you want texture, you play with the ratios of your strobes. In some situations , with smaller pieces, one light is enough and it lets to show some texture.

Because you are going to reproduce contemporary works of art I would recommend, If you have the possibility, the sun.

It is the best light for many different materials (oil, gouache, watercolor...).

No matter how big the painting is (big paintings need much more room when using artificial light), it delivers very nice results regarding uniformity and exactness in the color reproduction.

You must find the best angle of incidence, to emphasize (or not) the texture, and to reduce glares. A polarizer on the lens would perhaps be necessary.

You need, of course, a bright, cloudless day, or exactly the opposite, a perfectly gray overcast weather.

Remember to include the standard color patches and a gray 18% card, to facilitate the post processing.

• Like 3