Well...not happy with my results right out of the gate. Unsharp and lots of grain.

rpavich

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Film noob here. I've only shot digital so far and this is my first roll of developed negatives.

I used Tri-X 400 in my M6, developed in New55 Monobath and scanned with a flatbed scanner; Canon 9000F II.

I'm just not happy. I think (though I don't know) that it's a combination of lots of grain but mostly the scan is just "not quite sharp" not quite in focus.

I scanned both using the film holders, and then going against the glass, and got better results against the glass with no holder.

I'm also guessing that the Monobath developing is pretty grain-enhancing....true?

In any case, here is a shot from my first roll.

Any comments and suggestions to guide me are more than welcome.

20539741340_e8a9725e26_h.jpg

Edited by rpavich

Is the grain itself sharp in the scans? If not, then you might need to look at the scanning technique (experiment more with the film holders, etc.). If it is then it may be you have been using too low a shutter speed than is ideal for light levels (have you any results taken outside in stronger light?). Either way, it may be that you have unrealistic expectations of what a scanned neg looks like at 100% (you describe yourself as a "film noob" so I'm assuming you haven't scanned film before). As somebody (I think it was Alexander Tufte) in this forum once wrote: a scanned negative at 100% looks like shit but looks beautiful when printed, with digital it is the other way around. :)

• Like 1