Wide angle lenses designed for digital sensors

rramesh

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Could someone explain to the less technical, what adjustments are being made in wide angle lenses to suit the design of digital sensors, to overcome the thickness of the cover glass?

I am intrigued after trying out the Voigtlander 15 V3 where I clearly see a marked improvement from the V2 and V1 of this lens, in eliminating colour shifts.

Is the problem the thickness of the cover glass? I thought it was the sensors microlenses that are designed for telecentric digital lenses and therefore not performing well with traditional lens designs. The lens manufacturer could go some way to compensate by making their lenses more telecentric. But I'm no expert in camera design.

Steve

The thickness of the glass cover is only one factor of which there are many.

Its also worth ignoring lots of the web discussion on this as much of it is conjecture.

The fact is that manufacturers make cameras for their own lenses.

Sony A series are perfectly designed for their own lenses, the fact that certain models have corner fringing on wide angle M lenses is nothing to do with either Sony or Leica, its just a consequence of users experimenting across genre.

Focusing on the Leica M design, this was designed in a world of film where the thickness of the film could absorb more incident angles. Additionally film is generally (unless you expend a large amount of money in film selection, storage and custom processing) less precise and more noisy then good digital. The result of this is that M lenses are not fully corrected at the rear element for flat sensors.

Leica gets around this by angling the microlenses at the sides of the sensor. This solves much of the issue but not all, so some software correction is still required. Sony can't be bothered with this (although did do some for its own lens design on the A7R sensor). So its natural that M lenses for digital are best on Leica bodies.