35 Summicron vs. 40 Summicron

johnloumiles

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Any difference between the 35 Summicron v.2 vs the 40 Summicron in terms of overall image quality and bokeh? They were produced at the same time in Canada and on paper seem very similar with 6 elements in 4 groups. The 35 has ten blades vs. the 40s eight. Also the wiki shows Mandler as the designer of the 35 but not the 40. Estoteric opinions are welcome:)

My version 4 required F8 to be good in the corners.   It now lives on the crop sensor M8.   I bought a 35 2.0 ASPH for the M9. Boke seems the same, however I am not an expert on it.

40 has same filter thread diameter, pitch is different so common 39 filters will not screw properly.  

40 matches 50 mm frame lines far away,   35 lines close.

people often modify them to bring up 35 lines and then the mod is permanent. 

given a choice,  I would pick a 35.   V4 has a glued front cell.  Do not handle the lens by front or square shade when mounting or dismounting.  There are nice grippers on the back end.

I've used both the 35 v2 and 40 for decades, but the 40 only on the Leica CL as a pack-along camera. I was very satisfied with results of both on film. The v2 wide open does vignet quite a bit, and mine is a bit soft at f2. In fact my Nokton 35 f1.4 at f2 is sharper with less vigneting. I really like small lenses, but the aperture small tab control on the v2 isn't convenient, especially with the 504 hood clipped in place. 

On my M9 I've switched to a 35 Summarit 2.5 for a small travel lens, with the small 35 Nokton 1.4 available for low light.

My 40 still stays on my CL and still is a good combination.

In really like my 40cron.

The 40cron has its issues like filter thread and modification to 35mm frames is needed for practical use on M8 or M9.

If you take care to tighten your filter not too much it is ok, and the 35 mm lines fit very nice on digital M's.