M's and Glasses

ColColt

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Just a general question for those of you with M Leicas and wear glasses. If you're nearsighted, do you find it difficult to focus? I have that infirmity of the flesh and can't locate any M camera to check for myself. I would think if it were a problem there's corrective diopters out there that could easily replace(screw in?) the standard diopter.

Depends on how much correction your vision needs.  Diopters are available but if any astigmatism is present, they may not be the answer.  Your current prescription for lenses will be a good indicator if a screw in diopter will work for you.  Attempts have been made for more complex vision adjustment but they are expensive.  As a extremely nearsighted person, I have been using rangefinder cameras on and off for over forty years and Leica M exclusively for the last ten.  It takes some shifting the eye around to see the entire frame for the 28 lines but it's an adjustment I have made. Mostly I have found if I am able to see and use the rangefinder patch, everything else falls into place.  If you should have an older M body, consider either a cover for the eyepiece or have a technician replace it with the newer rubber coated version.  Scratched eyeglass lenses are, to me, a bigger problem than seeing the entire frame.

Edited by madNbad

My eyes had changed since I first had my F2A and just this year had to go searching for an answer as to the focus problem. I found Nikon's finders are set up for -1 diopter. I called my optometrist, told him the problem and was told my last prescription for the part that matters, was +1.25. I bought a +0.5 diopter and it worked like my eyes use to. With the M cameras I wasn't sure about the finder.