Annotated Index of Leica Photography Magazine & Call for Old Issues

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the Leica Forum, but a longtime participant on photo.net and APUG.org.

I've been busy digitizing my large, but incomplete, collection of Leica Photography magazines from 1949 through 1981. I'm working on obtaining permission to make the PDFs of these old magazines available, but, in the meantime, here's an annotated index I've prepared of my collection.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5tXvOBB2mPrS0dfNkZaZkwwMms/view?usp=sharing

The old advertisements (for Leitz products as well as a lot of other photography ephemera) in this magazine are fantastic, as are the debates on technique, equipment, chemistry, etc. Think the fuss about Rodinal edge effects is new? There's an article from the Fall 1963 issue that discusses them.

Also, if you have old issues of Leica Photography magazine that fill in any gaps in my collection, please let me know! I'm especially eager to get my hands on Volume 7, No. 1 (Spring 1954).

All the best,

Dan

• Like 9

Congratulations.

I love the cover of the first issue :

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

I'm working to make these available. I've contacted some of the people at the LHSA, and Andreas is helping me here as well.

I'm trying to obtain permission to sell them all on a single DVD. If that doesn't work, I'm trying to obtain permission to make them freely downloadable, but will accept donations to offset my significant time and capital expenses, as well as to fund the acquisition and scanning of missing issues.

I can't wait to share them.

Dan

• Like 2