M9 and Nostagia

TonyField

Advertisement (gone after registration)

In the 1970's I was a student at the University of Calgary.  Of course, as an avid photographer, I joined the Photo Directorate to shoot images for the newspaper and the year book.  This was effectively a private club of about six students who had access to a good office/studio and darkroom -- all well equipped by the university.  The work was all volunteer ... not like today in which the student photographers are surprisingly well paid.  No one in the group liked shooting things like theatre, dance, art and other cultural things ...  however I did and shot a lot in the university theatre.

In those days I shot with an M3 and and M4 with 35, 50, and 90mm Summicrons ... I was a poor student, however did spend one year making decent money before I went on campus ... I squandered all of my money on Leica -- a body, in those days, was about $400 to $500 - but I bought second hand for about 1/2 the price :)

By odd chance, last night I went to this same theatre to watch a local ballet school's production of Coppélia -- not a bad production at all considering the skill of the dancers.  For some reason, I took my M9 along with my very ancient 50mm Summilux.  Unlike the old days during which I could be shooting from stage level and moving around as I chose to capture the rehearsal, my friend and I were stuck off-center and more than a dozen rows higher than the stage. 

Since my M9 was in my hand, I took about twenty snaps of the performance.  Being in the theatre with a Leica in my hand, I instantly felt right at home,  fifty years younger, and eager to get to the Photo Directorate's darkroom to develop the images, make prints and give them to the newspaper's editor for the next edition.

The souvenirs of life have a strange way of catching up to you when you least expect it.  As Einstein suggests ... time dilates,  but he was wrong ... you can indeed revisit the past.