Summicron 75 Apo

mandelbrot

I have hed both a just recently decided to keep my APO 75/2.0 after selling my 75/1.4 and 90/2.0. I prefer 90mm FL more than 75, but since it is so small thought it nice to keep along with my Elmarit-M 90/2.8. If you do a search on here you will find about 2000 posts or more on this lens I am sure. 

If I were to chose two lenses and one Leica body, I'd go for a 1.4/35 and this 2/75. I have it for a couple of years now - bought it second hand at a good price. My view has not changed since then. For me the 2/75 it is a fantastic indoor lens (as you cannot always backup as much as you want to). Outdoor the little more reach of the 90 does not make a world difference. The lens focusses down to 70cm, which is helpful for close-ups. I am not an expert on image quality, but this lens clearly far exceeds my capabilities. Built-in lens hood (I know, I know, it is too short, but there is the physical protection factor, too). Yes, the 75 frame lines are quite off, but you can get used to it, actually. I even use this lens with a Zeiss Ikon with good results, which has no 75 frame lines at all. Humans are much more flexible than they appear, when they complain in forums ;)

• Like 1

I have both, and wouldn't be without the 75. The FL has been described as more intimate than 50, and I agree - it captures what I look at rather than the whole scene.

The Summicron is smaller and light than the Summilux, and has an excellent close focus. A great single carry around lens!

• Like 3

Everyone who's replied above have pretty much confirmed the reasons to have a 75 cron.

Unless you really need a 1.4 aperture, it's perfect (nice size, built in hood, nice IQ, and close focussing distance).

if you don't need the 1.4 aperture on the tele lenses, I would recommend the 75 cron, and with the money saved on not getting the 75 Lux, pick up a 90 mm Tele-Elmarit.  :D

Advertisement (gone after registration)